CGS - Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8 9   Go Down

Author Topic: General Mapster32 Help Thread  (Read 27534 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Dukebot

  • Pig Cop
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: General Mapster32 Help Thread
« Reply #90 on: March 20, 2014, 10:13:43 PM »

Hi guys, I have one question about mapster32.

I want to copy and paste sectors. I have read a lot of FAQs and they say that with [RIGHT ALT] I can draw a box, but no, it only workd with build, not with mapster32. Is there any key in mapster32 that equals the [RIGHT ALT] in build?
Logged

methy

  • Enforcer
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 251
    • View Profile
Re: General Mapster32 Help Thread
« Reply #91 on: March 20, 2014, 10:20:03 PM »

It's a glitch in recent mapster which prevents the ability.

I have 2 mapsters installed, the most recent one, and when i want to copy paste, I used an older. The one I use is from august 2013 and copy/pasting does work in that one. you can find it in that list http://dukeworld.duke4.net/eduke32/synthesis/
Logged
http://thisshitaintscary.blogspot.com/ - The only Blog solely dedicated to Horror video games

Dukebot

  • Pig Cop
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: General Mapster32 Help Thread
« Reply #92 on: March 20, 2014, 10:23:50 PM »

Thanks a lot!  ;D

EDIT: I downloaded it and it works very well. I don't understand how I mapped until today without copy pastin sectors, this sava A LOT OF TIME.

I have another question, what are the differences between the new mapster and the old one? because if there are not major differnces I will use the old one all the time.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2014, 11:18:18 PM by Dukebot »
Logged

Puritan

  • Administrator
  • Overlord
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1962
  • Beach Patrol
    • View Profile
    • Come Get Some
Re: General Mapster32 Help Thread
« Reply #93 on: March 20, 2014, 10:30:48 PM »

I've encountered the same problem with the latest Mapster.( ver 1.9.9.9)
But when I used the Mapster32.debug.exe file instead it worked again.
Logged
I'd rather be riding my motorcycle thinking about God than sitting in church thinking about my motorcycle.

Micky C

  • Beach Community Project
  • Battlelord
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1078
    • View Profile
    • My youtube channel
Re: General Mapster32 Help Thread
« Reply #94 on: March 21, 2014, 01:24:04 AM »

I don't think there's anything special in the newer mapster that would require you to use it.
Note that you can still select sectors by holding alt and the plus button on the keyboard with the mouse over the extor of interest, and releasing alt.

I highly recommend you read my guides for good mapping and mapping quickly, they'll probably help you out a lot. I'm on my phone so I can't link them at the moment.
Logged
Wall whore.

Forge

  • Global Moderator
  • Overlord
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2178
    • View Profile
Re: General Mapster32 Help Thread
« Reply #95 on: March 21, 2014, 03:40:45 AM »

well stand up and pry your phone out of your crack
Logged
Take it down to the beach with a hammer and pound sand up your ass

Micky C

  • Beach Community Project
  • Battlelord
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1078
    • View Profile
    • My youtube channel
Re: General Mapster32 Help Thread
« Reply #96 on: March 22, 2014, 11:32:49 AM »

In the time it took you to make that post, you could have also included a reference to my guides.

http://www.scent-88.com/forum/index.php/topic,221.0.html
Logged
Wall whore.

Dukebot

  • Pig Cop
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: General Mapster32 Help Thread
« Reply #97 on: March 22, 2014, 03:53:21 PM »

In the time it took you to make that post, you could have also included a reference to my guides.

http://www.scent-88.com/forum/index.php/topic,221.0.html

When I wanted to Copy paste was because I readed in your guide. I found this guide on steam and it's so usefull. Good job Micky C.
Logged

Captain Massive

  • Pig Cop
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 101
    • View Profile
Re: General Mapster32 Help Thread
« Reply #98 on: October 13, 2014, 08:59:33 PM »

So I want to make a lift where when you press the button to go down, a forcefield activates so you can't leave, then the forcefield switches off when it's reached the destination (I plan to use a two-way train or something for that bit)

But the question is, is there any way that I can get the forcefield to start off deactivated, or maybe some mechanism where I can get the player to deactivate it, while still having it work normally given it needs to work in conjunction with the lift?

I did this by accident recently link it to a switch that in the OFF position.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2014, 09:30:38 PM by Captain Massive »
Logged
Massive Out....

Captain Massive

  • Pig Cop
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 101
    • View Profile
Re: General Mapster32 Help Thread
« Reply #99 on: October 13, 2014, 09:04:49 PM »

i know. i tried to make a flashing neon sign on top of a nightclub in my last map. went through all the work to set up a bunch of cycling sectors, got everything timed just right, and then found out the letters wouldn't light up because they were wall aligned.
(flipped them to floor aligned and it worked great - if you happen to be flying over with a jetpack  :P)

Sector Effector 4's work for that as far as I can tell.
Logged
Massive Out....

Puritan

  • Administrator
  • Overlord
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1962
  • Beach Patrol
    • View Profile
    • Come Get Some
Re: General Mapster32 Help Thread
« Reply #100 on: October 13, 2014, 10:42:32 PM »

i know. i tried to make a flashing neon sign on top of a nightclub in my last map. went through all the work to set up a bunch of cycling sectors, got everything timed just right, and then found out the letters wouldn't light up because they were wall aligned.
(flipped them to floor aligned and it worked great - if you happen to be flying over with a jetpack  :P )

Sector Effector 4's work for that as far as I can tell.


Well, I reckon neither Fuji nor Coca-Cola want their neon sign flickering.
SE4 does exactly that.
A cycler trick would control the lights.
Logged
I'd rather be riding my motorcycle thinking about God than sitting in church thinking about my motorcycle.

Forge

  • Global Moderator
  • Overlord
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2178
    • View Profile
Re: General Mapster32 Help Thread
« Reply #101 on: October 13, 2014, 11:20:27 PM »

SE4 is not the effect i wanted - i was trying to get the letters light up in sequence one at a time. then when the whole word was lit up it'd go dim and start over.

i needed to be able to control the speed/timing. it might be possible, but trying to get the timing on an 11 letter word would have been more trouble than it was worth -  and it still has a randomness to the effect. You can hi-tag it to flash once per two seconds, but you can't really control which part of the two seconds it's going to decide to flash.

« Last Edit: October 14, 2014, 04:04:09 AM by Forge »
Logged
Take it down to the beach with a hammer and pound sand up your ass

Captain Massive

  • Pig Cop
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 101
    • View Profile
Re: General Mapster32 Help Thread
« Reply #102 on: October 14, 2014, 05:38:00 AM »

Good point unless you wanted it to act busted looking like a from dusk till dawn mexican bar this simply would not do the trick.
Logged
Massive Out....

Captain Massive

  • Pig Cop
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 101
    • View Profile
Re: General Mapster32 Help Thread
« Reply #103 on: October 14, 2014, 05:50:47 AM »

Maybe SE8's or SE12's on timers but only if its horizontal.
Logged
Massive Out....

Puritan

  • Administrator
  • Overlord
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1962
  • Beach Patrol
    • View Profile
    • Come Get Some
Re: General Mapster32 Help Thread
« Reply #104 on: October 14, 2014, 10:54:32 AM »

SE4 is not the effect i wanted - i was trying to get the letters light up in sequence one at a time. then when the whole word was lit up it'd go dim and start over.

i needed to be able to control the speed/timing. it might be possible, but trying to get the timing on an 11 letter word would have been more trouble than it was worth -  and it still has a randomness to the effect. You can hi-tag it to flash once per two seconds, but you can't really control which part of the two seconds it's going to decide to flash.




From the top of my head ( at work....).
Could it be done with putting each letter in a small sector and parallax the "ceiling" of this tiny sectors?
Logged
I'd rather be riding my motorcycle thinking about God than sitting in church thinking about my motorcycle.
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8 9   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.036 seconds with 15 queries.