Here's my user map

Started by Tgreyhair, 02 February 2014, 01:40:05

Previous topic - Next topic

Tgreyhair

I sort made it rain a tiny bit not too much so I never used the wet ground texture. I'm quite happy with the start of the level I know it might put people off but I wanted to stick with the orange red floor.

What's meant by shading anyway? (sorry I'm just a beginner, anything too complex will confuse me)

Thanks for the help and guides everyone.  :)

Forge

shading is explained on this page under the Advanced Functions section
http://infosuite.duke4.net/index.php?page=basics_sectors

keeps things from looking flat. it adds visual depth to a map by making walls darker/lighter than the ones next to it.

examples (not the standard - but simplified):

walls in the corner of a room or at the corner of a building and are set at a 90 degree right angle. make one wall 4 shades darker than the other.

walls at less than 90 degrees - like ones going around a curved hallway or around a circle shaped pillar- change the gradation between adjoining walls by 2 shades so it looks like it's getting progressively darker/lighter (and can gradate back to the original shade i.e. it starts light then gets darker as it goes around the curve - then gets lighter again) you have to think about what your sources of light/shade throwing objects would do.
Take it down to the beach with a hammer and pound sand up your ass

Tgreyhair

I managed to make it more cave like.  :D

What do you think of the map now guys.

Try to complete the map in one go. ;D

Micky C

You didn't really do anything though. You just sloped some ceilings. When I said slopes and height variation and stuff, I meant using child sectors. It still doesn't have have any shading and the  gameplay is still quite simple. If there's any challenge to it at all it's because of the number of enemies itself rather than actual challenging combat situations.