PHP Coding

Started by Supertanker, 07 January 2012, 04:33:41

Previous topic - Next topic

Supertanker

Hey all;

If you guys are going to be writing in PHP, I can throw in my experience if you need it. I'm by no means a great coder but I've been working on several PHP applications over the past two years and have been developing a staff application for one of the local colleges (just passed the two year mark--no crashes or failures of my code yet!), so if nothing else I can help you find bugs. :)

Puritan

That's great  ;)

I'll bare that in mind.
Bitter words mean little to me. Autumn winds will blow right through me
And someday in the mist of time, when they asked me if I knew you
I'd smile and say you were a friend of mine, and the sadness would be lifted from my eyes
Oh when I'm old and wise

Puritan

Ok, Supertanker  :)

Can you find a way to insert Todays date( MM-DD) into this code?
As you can see I'm using '_' as wildcard for year (YYYY)

<?php $con =

mysql_connect("myhost","database","password");
if (!$con) { die('Could not connect: ' .

mysql_error()); } mysql_select_db("database", $con);
$result = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM map_collection

WHERE date like '____-MM-DD' ORDER BY column DESC");

while($row = mysql_fetch_array($result))

{ echo ' '.$row['ID'];
echo '<font size=1><br/> Map Name: '.$row['title'];
echo '<br/> Author: '.$row['author'];
echo '<br/> Released: '.$row['date'];
echo '<br/> Score: '.$row['score'];
echo '<br/> Download: '.$row['link'];
echo '<br/> Screenshot: <br><br>'.$row['thumb'];
echo '<br/><br/>'; } ?>
I'd smile and say you were a friend of mine, and the sadness would be lifted from my eyes
Oh when I'm old and wise

Supertanker

There's several ways we could do it. Inefficient way (about as inefficient as LIKE):

select * from map collection where extract(MONTH from now()) = extract(MONTH from date) AND extract(DAY from now()) = extract(DAY from date);