CGS - Forums

General Category => Media Forum => Topic started by: Puritan on January 02, 2012, 06:55:55 PM

Title: Q about a PHP script
Post by: Puritan on January 02, 2012, 06:55:55 PM
I've added a small PHP script that counts rows from the database.
This is put on this page: http://www.scent-88.com/mapbase/maplistings.php (http://www.scent-88.com/mapbase/maplistings.php)
Now, the counter displays two more maps than it should (display=35 but there is only 33 maps registered)  :o
I think the script maybe are counting the first (zero) row and maybe the last row who is not filled in yet..


Code:


mysql_select_db ("database"); 
$result = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM table"); 
 
$num_rows = mysql_num_rows($result); 
 
// Display the results 
 
echo $num_rows;



Anyone have an idea on how to change the script?
Title: Re: Computers & software
Post by: Forge on January 02, 2012, 07:54:26 PM
If nobody here has an answer, Tx at Duke4 might know.
Title: Re: Computers & software
Post by: Puritan on January 02, 2012, 08:35:41 PM
I also tried this code:
Guess what?
Same result  :-[


$query = ("SELECT * FROM $table"); 
 
$result = mysql_query($query) or die("Error in query: $query. " .
$row = mysql_fetch_row($result);
$columnCount = count($row);

Title: Re: Computers & software
Post by: Forge on January 02, 2012, 09:22:00 PM
some examples from google searching:


mysql_select_db("database", $link);

$result = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM table1", $link);
$num_rows = mysql_num_rows($result);

echo "$num_rows Rows\n";

----------------------------------------------------------

$query = "SELECT type, COUNT(name) FROM products GROUP BY type";
   
$result = mysql_query($query) or die(mysql_error());

----------------------------------------------------------

$query = "SELECT COUNT(1) FROM table");
$result = mysql_query($query) or die(mysql_error());

$row = mysql_fetch_row($result);

echo $row[0];

-------------------------------------------------------

Title: Re: Computers & software
Post by: Puritan on January 02, 2012, 10:22:05 PM
^Thanks for your input  ;)
I've tried those too...


But I found one error: Now there is 35 maps in the base but it displays 36.
The last 'extra' entry must be the (zero) line in SQL base.
I don't dare to delete that line at this stage.


I think we have to live with that 'extra' map for a while  :)